Tactile-key report review · keep the paired forces behind the percentage

Membrane Switch Tactile Ratios: Average Which Values?

An average tactile ratio is incomplete unless the report identifies what was averaged. Calculating a ratio for each key and then averaging those percentages can give a different result from averaging the paired forces first. Keep each peak and post-peak minimum together, identify the calculation and specimen state, and state whether acceptance applies to each key or a named summary. Neither summary alone proves acceptable feel, electrical operation or life.

Executive answer

Choose the reporting rule before collecting the readings

  • Keep the two force inputs paired to the same key and observation before calculating a percentage.
  • A mean of ratios and a ratio of means answer different summary questions; write the chosen operation into the report.
  • A passing panel summary cannot replace a per-key requirement, mounted evaluation or electrical evidence.

Current guidance context

What OEM engineers and sourcing teams should decide first

A quotation or sample sheet may say 'average tactile ratio: 50%.' Before comparing it with another supplier's number, ask for the calculation behind that field. Does every key get one ratio, or are force readings combined before the ratio is calculated? Does the requirement concern every key or the panel's summary?

This is a report-definition question, not a request to maximize a percentage. The worksheet below uses the same two fictional pairs in both calculations so the difference cannot be blamed on a different sample. The practical output is a paired-data record and an explicit acceptance field.

01

Name the force fields before using the formula

Snaptron describes tactile ratio as the percentage drop from peak force to a minimum after snap. In that convention, TR = 100 × (Fmax − Fmin) / Fmax. The values must use compatible force units and the same declared observation and point-selection rule. A peak-force reading by itself cannot supply the second input.

SourceSnaptron: published tactile-ratio convention ↗

Its Sapphire tester field list distinguishes Fmin, the minimum after Fmax, from Fc at contact, Fb at break and Frmin/Frmax on return. Use those labels as a source-specific dictionary, not permission to substitute whichever low value is easiest to find. Another report's word 'release' needs its own definition and trace location before it is mapped to Fmin.

SourceSnaptron: distinct force and return-field definitions ↗

Keep the method identity separate from the equipment advertisement. ASTM's official F2592-16 record is withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement; its public scope discusses force-displacement characterization beyond a single ratio. This article does not reconstruct that procedure or make a percentage equivalent to a tactile slope or slope angle. The existing force-curve guide addresses the wider method and electrical-event record.

SourceASTM F2592-16: public status and scope ↗Define the complete curve and synchronized electrical events ↗
02

Work the same two force pairs two ways

Hypothetical HYR editorial arithmetic only: imagine one recorded observation for each of two keys, A and B, under one common method and specimen state. These are scalar inputs, not measured hardware, complete force curves or evidence that either key can be manufactured. A uses Fmax = 2.0 N and Fmin = 0.5 N. B uses Fmax = 6.0 N and Fmin = 4.5 N.

Calculate each row first. A gives 100 × (2.0 − 0.5) / 2.0 = 75%. B gives 100 × (6.0 − 4.5) / 6.0 = 25%. With equal weight for these two rows, the arithmetic mean of their ratios is (75% + 25%) / 2 = 50%.

Now average the forces first: mean Fmax = 4.0 N and mean Fmin = 2.5 N. Applying the same ratio formula to those means gives 100 × (4.0 − 2.5) / 4.0 = 37.5%. The data have not changed. The order of operations has changed the summary by 12.5 percentage points.

For positive peak forces and the same complete paired rows, the ratio of force means equals a peak-force-weighted mean of the row ratios. Here B receives three times A's weight because its peak is three times as large. That is an arithmetic identity, not a recommendation to weight heavier keys more strongly. Choose the intended statistic before interpreting the result.

03

Attach the limit to a field, not the word average

To expose the decision problem, introduce an explicitly hypothetical minimum of 40%. This is not an acceptable-feel recommendation or an ASTM limit. If it applies to each of the two row ratios, A satisfies it and B does not. The mean of row ratios, 50%, satisfies a 40% minimum on that summary. The ratio of mean forces, 37.5%, does not satisfy a 40% minimum on that different summary.

Those are three different rules, not competing verdicts on an approved product. A summary-only requirement leaves individual values uncontrolled unless it also names a per-key condition. Conversely, a per-key requirement must not be replaced after measurement by a favorable panel average. Retain any range, outlier or critical-key rule the project actually requires.

State the reporting hierarchy too. Repeated cycles of one key, different keys on one panel and different panels are distinct observation groups. If a row is already a group mean, do not give every such row equal weight while calling the result an observation-level mean unless that is the intended rule. Keep group sizes and weights with the calculation, and do not infer process capability from this two-row exercise.

04

Keep component and mounted records separate

Snaptron's overlay guidance separates a dome's own characteristics from the force-displacement response experienced at the finished button surface. The overlay, actuator, adhesive, spacer and support belong to that installed context. Do not average standalone dome readings with external-button readings and describe the mixture as one construction's tactile ratio.

SourceSnaptron: dome characteristics and the external stack response ↗

Identify the physical stage on every row, alongside the key and specimen. If the purpose is to compare two panel constructions, use the agreed support and pressing method for both. If the purpose is to evaluate the installed interface, preserve the relevant housing and stack revision. A numerical summary cannot establish that those configurations are equivalent.

SourceReview placement and assembly-state evidence separately ↗

Keep electrical observations separate as well. The presence of a calculated force ratio does not establish a make or break event, correct mapping, return behavior or durability. Request the additional channels and checks that answer the project's actual question rather than adding unsupported meaning to the percentage.

05

Catch five summary failures before acceptance

These are hypothetical report-review failures, not observed HYR defects or customer cases. Resolve the missing definition rather than silently changing a number.

  • An unexplained average: the sheet gives a percentage but not the order of operations. Request the row formula, aggregation and weighting.
  • A substituted low force: electrical contact or a return-path minimum is used where the agreed formula requires a post-peak minimum. Recover the trace and correct the field mapping.
  • Broken pairing: peaks and minima come from different keys, cycles or specimen states. Rebuild matched rows before calculating ratios.
  • Approval by summary: a favorable panel mean is substituted for a stated per-key requirement. Apply the original field-level rule and disposition the exceptions.
  • Hidden data handling: missing rows, unequal groups or rounding alter the summary without being recorded. Preserve the available precision, exclusion reason and intended weighting.
06

Release the paired-data record with the RFQ

Give the supplier a compact record layout: specimen and key ID, observation ID, physical state, method revision, force units, paired Fmax/Fmin, trace reference, calculated row ratio and row disposition. Add a separate summary record that names its included rows, operation, weighting, rounding and acceptance field. Open inputs can be labeled as quotation assumptions until the responsible team defines them.

Retain the unrounded values available from the agreed measurement system; do not manufacture extra precision. Recalculate the summary from the released rows and compare it with the reported result. If Fmax is zero, the ratio is undefined. If a selected minimum is inconsistent with the agreed post-peak definition, investigate the observation rather than clipping it into a convenient percentage.

Use HYR's secure RFQ to share the available panel drawing, tactile-element and mounting context, and a nonconfidential report format or question. The review can clarify the information needed for comparison. It does not promise a tactile target, measurement service, test result, quotation outcome or delivery schedule.

SourceShare the tactile-key reporting question for engineering review ↗

Decision matrix

Which result would the hypothetical 40% rule control?

Conditional worksheet using only the fictional A/B pairs above. The 40% minimum illustrates rule identity, not a recommended threshold or completed sample approval.

Decision factorInput or operationCalculated resultIf the stated rule applies here
Key AFmax 2.0 N; Fmin 0.5 N100 × (2.0 − 0.5) / 2.0 = 75%Satisfies the fictional 40% row minimum; establishes no other characteristic.
Key BFmax 6.0 N; Fmin 4.5 N100 × (6.0 − 4.5) / 6.0 = 25%Does not satisfy that row minimum; a favorable summary cannot erase the exception.
Mean of row ratiosEqual weight for the two calculated percentages(75% + 25%) / 2 = 50%Satisfies a fictional 40% minimum on this summary only, not on every key.
Ratio of mean forcesMean Fmax 4.0 N; mean Fmin 2.5 N100 × (4.0 − 2.5) / 4.0 = 37.5%Does not satisfy a fictional 40% minimum on this different summary.
An undefined averageOperation, included rows or reporting level missingNo reproducible acceptance fieldReturn the report for definition; do not choose the favorable calculation afterward.

The two summaries differ by 12.5 percentage points. This worksheet supplies arithmetic and rule mapping only, not measurement uncertainty, a sampling justification, force-curve equivalence, ergonomic validation or a product pass.

Before the RFQ

Frequently asked questions

Calculation

Is an average of tactile ratios the same as a ratio of average forces?

Not in general. In the hypothetical A/B worksheet the equal-weight mean of row ratios is 50%, while the ratio calculated from mean forces is 37.5%. Name the operation, included rows and weighting before comparing reports.

Field identity

Can contact force or return force replace Fmin?

Not without an agreed definition. The cited tester dictionary lists the minimum after Fmax separately from contact, break and return fields. Keep the selected curve points and direction with the formula; do not substitute an electrical or return value because it is labeled release or minimum.

Units

Do the two force inputs need the same units?

They need compatible units expressed consistently before subtraction and division. The worksheet uses newtons for both. A consistent force-unit scale cancels in the ratio, but that does not make different probes, specimen states or point-selection methods equivalent.

Acceptance

Can a passing panel average approve every key?

No, not under a per-key requirement. The fictional 50% summary coexists with a 25% row. State whether each limit applies to each key, a repeated-key result, a panel summary or another defined field. The example's 40% limit is not a recommendation.

Scope

Does a tactile-ratio result prove the mounted panel or its life?

No. Preserve the dome-versus-external-button measurement boundary and evaluate the actual assembly under the agreed method. Electrical events, return behavior, user acceptance and durability need their own applicable evidence. No such result is supplied by the two-row arithmetic example.

A useful fit when

Who this guide helps

  • OEM engineers comparing tactile membrane-switch sample reports or defining a supplier's numerical summary.
  • Sourcing and quality teams receiving a tactile-ratio percentage without its paired force readings or aggregation rule.

Limits to resolve

Scope and limitations

  • The two-key values and 40% rule are hypothetical arithmetic inputs, not measured curves, a recommended threshold, a supplier result or an approved sample.
  • The guide does not prescribe a complete test method, tactile slope, ergonomic target, production sampling plan or life rating.

Prepare the RFQ

What to send for a useful review

  1. 01

    Panel and dome or tactile-element revision, specimen and key identifiers, conditioning, observation number and loose or mounted state.

  2. 02

    Agreed force units, probe and support, motion, curve channel, peak/minimum selection window and separate electrical make/break definitions when required.

  3. 03

    Paired force readings and retained trace references before rounding; identify omitted, invalid or repeated observations and their disposition.

  4. 04

    Formula, order of calculation, key/cycle/panel reporting level, weighting, rounding and the exact field to which each limit applies.

  5. 05

    Separate mounted-interface, return, electrical and durability evidence required by the responsible equipment team.

Evidence boundary

Evidence and editorial method

Snaptron publishes a peak-to-minimum tactile-ratio formula and separately identifies post-peak, contact, break and return-force fields on its tester page. Its overlay guidance distinguishes dome characteristics from the complete button's external response. ASTM's public F2592-16 record is withdrawn with no replacement. The paired-data aggregation and conditional acceptance example here are original HYR editorial arithmetic, not a physical test or standard procedure. The parent-owned circuit photograph supplies no measured force data.

Publication approval: Owner-approved scheduled editorial publication under standing authorization recorded 5 September 2026; editorial verification 29 October 2026.

Technical reference basis

Sources and applicability

  1. Snaptron Inc.Tactile Ratio Explained: What Makes a Switch Feel Crisp? ↗
    Source date: September 2026 URL; exact publication day not stated on the visible page · Accessed 29 October 2026

    Manufacturer's peak/post-peak-minimum formula and distinction from a complete tactile evaluation. Its example values, images, product limits and test-service claims are not reproduced or attributed to HYR.

  2. Snaptron Inc.Sapphire Switch Tester — test-parameter definitions ↗
    Source date: Undated public product page; exact publication date not stated · Accessed 29 October 2026

    Manufacturer-specific dictionary distinguishing Fmax, Fmin, Fc, Fb and return-force fields. No claim that HYR owns the instrument, follows its settings or has performed a test.

  3. Snaptron Inc.How Graphic Overlays and Stack-Up Affect Tactile Switch Feel ↗
    Source date: October 2026 URL; exact publication day not stated on the visible page · Accessed 29 October 2026

    Distinguishes dome characteristics from the external response of the complete button stack. Not proof of a particular HYR construction or a universal material effect.

  4. ASTM InternationalF2592-16 — Measuring the Force-Displacement of a Membrane Switch ↗
    Source date: Withdrawn 2023, no replacement; catalog updated 29 November 2023 · Accessed 29 October 2026

    Public withdrawn status and force-displacement scope only. No paywalled method, current replacement, tactile threshold or conformance claim is supplied.