The method is withdrawn; keep the measurement question and control the evidence

Membrane Switch Force Curves After ASTM F2592

ASTM F2592-16 was withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement, so do not cite it as a current consensus requirement. Preserve the engineering objective by defining the specimen, support, probe, motion, force and displacement records, electrical make and break events, calculation rules, and acceptance limits. Compare complete press-and-release curves rather than a single peak-force value.

Executive answer

Four controls behind a comparable force curve

  • F2592-16 is a withdrawn method with no replacement, not a current default specification.
  • Two keys can share the same peak force while making contact, releasing and traveling differently.
  • A comparable report needs the complete measurement system, synchronized electrical event and position-level acceptance rule.

Current guidance context

What OEM engineers and sourcing teams should decide first

A legacy drawing may call for ASTM F2592 while a new quotation provides only an operating-force range. Those are not equivalent inputs. ASTM International now marks F2592-16 as withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement. The project should therefore decide whether it needs historical comparability, a newly defined internal method, another applicable contract reference or a qualified laboratory proposal.

Keep the original engineering question visible: how does the identified key behave through press, electrical closure, continued travel and release under a controlled setup? A peak number can support one part of that decision, but it cannot show the contact event, return behavior or an unexpected make-break transition.

01

Record the withdrawn status before copying the requirement

ASTM's official page for F2592-16 states Withdrawn 2023 and No replacement, with the status last updated 29 November 2023. A current RFQ should not describe that edition as active or imply that a supplier following a different project method is automatically noncompliant. Record the status, then identify the contractual method the buyer actually requires.

The public ASTM scope remains useful for understanding the characteristic. It says the method covered force-displacement measurement of a membrane switch and that a hysteresis-loop curve can be used to determine actuation force, displacement, contact force, return force, and tactile actuating and recovery slope angles. The public summary does not provide a universal force limit or approve one construction.

If historical parts were accepted to F2592-16, preserve the old report, edition and setup instead of translating its result into an unlabeled house test. A new method may be suitable, but any difference in fixture, speed, probe, calculation or electrical threshold can break direct comparability. Ask the responsible engineering or quality role to approve that bridge.

ASTM F2592-16 official withdrawn-status and scope page
02

Read the mechanical curve beside the electrical event

A force-displacement trace follows mechanical loading as the probe moves into and away from the key. The synchronized electrical channel identifies when the intended circuit makes and breaks. Keep those records aligned: a mechanical snap does not by itself prove the contact event, and an electrical transition does not describe the complete tactile response.

Define every reported term in the project method. Peak force might mean the maximum on the press path, while contact force is tied to electrical make. Return force belongs to the release path. Travel can be referenced to first contact with the key, electrical make, a mechanical feature or another declared point. Mixing those definitions can make two correct reports appear inconsistent.

The press and release paths form a loop rather than one line. That makes the release record important. A key can meet a press-force range yet return at a different force or displacement, or show more than one electrical transition. Decide which features are useful for the application's component comparison and which system-level judgments remain with the equipment owner.

03

Worked example: the same peak force can hide a different key

This is an original hypothetical HYR editorial worksheet, not a customer case, measured specimen or F2592 calculation. Assume A and B both reach a 3.0 N press-path peak. A makes electrical contact at 2.1 N and 0.55 mm; B makes at 2.8 N and 0.80 mm. Their shared peak does not make the full curves equivalent.

A releases at 1.2 N and 0.35 mm. B releases at 0.5 N and 0.15 mm. The make-to-break force differences are therefore 0.9 N for A and 2.3 N for B, while the make-to-break displacement differences are 0.20 mm for A and 0.65 mm for B. These arithmetic differences are descriptive only; the worksheet does not define good feel or a pass limit.

Candidate C peaks at 2.6 N, makes at 1.8 N and 0.45 mm, and first breaks at 0.9 N and 0.30 mm. Its fictional log also contains a second make-break pair during release. Even if C's peak sits inside a broad purchasing range, the extra transition requires an explicit disposition rather than averaging it away.

Use this screen to decide what the actual report must expose. If the project needs only a peak-force check, say so and accept its limitations. If supplier equivalence depends on make, release, travel or curve shape, require those fields and retain the underlying synchronized trace.

04

Control the measurement system before comparing suppliers

The specimen condition belongs in the result. Identify the key position, construction and sample; whether the panel is loose, supported on a uniform plate or installed in the intended enclosure; and how adhesive, bezel, gasket, cavity or backing features are represented. A mounted result should not be compared with a loose-panel result without recording the difference.

Control the interaction with the key: probe shape and size, contact point, approach direction, motion profile, displacement origin and any dwell or preload. Also identify the force transducer, displacement measurement, sampling or synchronization approach, electrical test circuit and threshold used to declare make and break. Do not infer a missing condition from a graph style.

NIST's force-transducer calibration description makes a useful general boundary: when a customer transducer and readout are calibrated as a system, that calibration is valid only when they are used together. This does not prescribe an HYR test setup, but it supports recording the complete measurement chain and calibration status rather than listing a load-cell model alone.

For repeated comparisons, add a measurement-system check appropriate to the decision. Resolution, alignment, fixture deflection, speed control, electrical timing and operator setup can all affect the record. The responsible test owner should state how suitability and uncertainty are established; this article does not assign a universal accuracy or gauge-study rule.

NIST force-transducer calibration and system boundary
05

Six comparison failures a peak-force range can miss

Use these scenarios to locate a missing control. They are review cases, not reported HYR failures.

  • Wrong standard status: an RFQ calls F2592 current even though ASTM marks F2592-16 withdrawn with no replacement.
  • Different result definitions: one report lists the press-path maximum while another lists force at electrical make under the same label.
  • Support changed: a loose sample and mounted panel are compared as though the backing, bezel and adhesive could not affect the trace.
  • Probe or speed changed: the contact geometry, pressing point or motion profile differs between supplier and incoming inspection.
  • Release hidden: the key meets the press range, but return force, break point or an extra electrical transition is absent from the report.
  • Average masks position: several keys are combined into one mean even though the drawing applies a limit to each critical position.
06

Release a comparable RFQ and sample-approval record

Start with the decision: historical equivalence, supplier comparison, position consistency, mounted behavior or change qualification. Attach the controlled drawing and key map, identify the sample stage and list the curve fields that answer that decision. If an old F2592 report remains the reference, include its edition and available setup details while labeling its current withdrawn status.

Set acceptance before measuring. State whether limits apply per key, per sample, to selected critical positions or to a distribution. Define repeat handling, outlier review and whether the raw trace must be retained. An average can summarize a population, but it should not silently replace an individual limit or erase an extra transition.

Link the component result to the mounted approval without merging responsibilities. The membrane-switch supplier can return the identified construction and agreed component evidence. The OEM or equipment owner still decides operator suitability, control behavior, usability and any safety-related response in the representative system.

For an HYR review, send the drawing, key map, reference report, mounting boundary and proposed acceptance table through the secure RFQ. Mark unknown method details rather than inventing them. The review can then separate what belongs in the supplier test, the mounted sample and the equipment-level validation plan.

Define the tactile construction and mounted supportSend the force-curve requirements for review

Decision matrix

Three-curve screen: peak force is only one field

Original hypothetical data, not measured hardware or an F2592 procedure. Force is in newtons and displacement in millimeters. Each make or break point is tied to a fictional synchronized electrical log.

Decision factorPress and makeRelease and breakRFQ decision
Candidate APeak 3.0 N; make 2.1 N at 0.55 mmBreak 1.2 N at 0.35 mm; one make and one breakA complete baseline only if the setup, trace and limits are controlled.
Candidate BPeak 3.0 N; make 2.8 N at 0.80 mmBreak 0.5 N at 0.15 mm; one make and one breakSame peak as A, but do not call the full behavior equivalent without approved criteria.
Candidate CPeak 2.6 N; make 1.8 N at 0.45 mmFirst break 0.9 N at 0.30 mm; extra make-break pair in fictional logDo not average away the extra transition; investigate and disposition it explicitly.
Method identitySpecimen, support, probe, motion, instruments and electrical circuitSynchronized press/release trace and calculation definitionsName the contractual method; F2592-16 is withdrawn with no replacement.
Acceptance identityPer-key, per-sample or distribution ruleRepeat, outlier, raw-data and deviation policyKeep approval authority and mounted/system responsibilities explicit.

For A, the hypothetical make-to-break differences are 0.9 N and 0.20 mm; for B, 2.3 N and 0.65 mm; for C's first break, 0.9 N and 0.15 mm. These values are arithmetic descriptions, not tactile ratios, slope angles, tolerances or product recommendations. No candidate is approved by this table.

Before the RFQ

Frequently asked questions

Status

Is ASTM F2592 still an active membrane-switch test method?

No. ASTM International marks F2592-16 as withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement, status last updated 29 November 2023. A current RFQ should record that status and name the actual contractual method instead of calling F2592 current.

Legacy

Can a buyer still reference an old ASTM F2592 report?

Yes, as historical evidence when its edition, specimen, setup and limits remain identifiable, but the report should not be presented as proof of current-standard compliance. The responsible project role should decide how a new method is bridged to the legacy baseline.

Peak force

Is peak actuation force enough to approve a tactile membrane switch?

Not when the decision also depends on electrical make, travel, release, curve shape or unexpected transitions. The hypothetical A and B examples share a 3.0 N peak but differ at make and break. Define only the fields the project needs, while recording the limits of a peak-only comparison.

Mounting

Should force-displacement be measured loose or in the enclosure?

The answer depends on the decision. A controlled loose or uniform-support test can compare component construction, while a mounted test captures the intended backing, adhesive, bezel and enclosure interaction. Record the condition and do not treat one as automatically equivalent to the other.

Report

What belongs in a membrane-switch force-curve report?

Identify the specimen and key, support and mounting, probe, pressing point, direction, motion profile, force and displacement systems, calibration status, electrical circuit, make and break definitions, full synchronized press/release trace, calculations, repeats, deviations and the acceptance rule used.

A useful fit when

Who this guide helps

  • OEM teams comparing tactile membrane-switch samples, supplier changes or key positions using force and travel evidence.
  • Sourcing and quality teams translating a legacy ASTM F2592 reference into a controlled project-specific test requirement.

Limits to resolve

Scope and limitations

  • The A, B and C worksheet uses invented editorial data to demonstrate decision logic. It is not an HYR test, customer result, material rating or recommended force window.
  • This article does not reproduce the withdrawn ASTM procedure, designate a replacement standard or approve finished-equipment ergonomics, usability or safety.

Prepare the RFQ

What to send for a useful review

  1. 01

    Controlled switch drawing, construction revision, key-position map, specimen quantity and identified reference sample where available.

  2. 02

    Loose, uniform-support or production-mounted condition, including adhesive, backing, bezel and enclosure details that affect the active area.

  3. 03

    Probe geometry, pressing point and direction, motion profile, force and displacement instrumentation, calibration status and synchronized electrical circuit.

  4. 04

    Required outputs such as full press/release trace, peak force, electrical make and break points, return behavior, travel definition and any curve-shape calculation.

  5. 05

    Position-level and sample-level limits, repeat policy, data-retention format, deviations and the responsible project approval role.

Evidence boundary

Evidence and editorial method

ASTM's current product page states that F2592-16 was withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement and publicly describes its force-displacement scope and curve outputs. NIST explains why force-transducer calibration can be valid only for the calibrated transducer/readout system. The A–C comparison is original HYR editorial synthesis with explicit hypothetical values and independent arithmetic checks; it is not a test result. The parent-owned photograph shows finished membrane panels only and supplies no force or travel evidence.

Publication approval: Owner-approved scheduled editorial publication under standing authorization recorded 5 September 2026; editorial verification 18 September 2026.

Technical reference basis

Sources and applicability

  1. ASTM InternationalASTM F2592-16: Standard Test Method for Measuring the Force-Displacement of a Membrane Switch
    Source date: 2016 edition; withdrawn 2023 · Accessed 18 September 2026

    Official withdrawn-status, scope and significance page. ASTM states Withdrawn 2023, no replacement, status last updated 29 November 2023. No paywalled procedure is reproduced and no product limit is inferred.

  2. ASTM InternationalASTM electronics standards catalogue
    Publication date not stated · Accessed 18 September 2026

    Official catalogue corroborating F2592-16 as Withdrawn 2023. Used for current status only, not as a replacement method or HYR compliance claim.

  3. National Institute of Standards and TechnologyCalibration of Force Transducers
    Source date: Created 1 July 2015; updated 26 March 2025 · Accessed 18 September 2026

    General force-measurement context showing that a customer transducer and readout calibrated as a system remain valid together. It does not prescribe a membrane-switch method, instrument or accuracy.