The method is withdrawn; map every insulation boundary before specifying a withstand test

Membrane Switch Dielectric Tests After ASTM F1662

ASTM F1662-16 was withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement. A current RFQ should therefore name the contractual dielectric-withstand method and define the exact source and return nodes, waveform, voltage, ramp, dwell, leakage or trip criterion, exposed shields or backers, preconditioning, post-test checks, and specimen disposition. Keep this component test separate from insulation coordination and finished-equipment safety approval.

Executive answer

Four controls behind a comparable dielectric test

  • F1662-16 is withdrawn with no replacement, so a legacy designation cannot replace a current contractual method.
  • A voltage value is incomplete until the source and return nodes, waveform, dwell, trip behavior and specimen condition are defined.
  • Component dielectric evidence does not by itself establish equipment insulation coordination or finished-product safety.

Current guidance context

What OEM engineers and sourcing teams should decide first

A drawing note such as dielectric test required sounds precise but can leave the most important boundary unstated. The result changes when the test stresses a conductor crossing, two adjacent nets, a shield, a conductive coating or a metal backer. ASTM International now marks F1662-16 as withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement, so a current RFQ should identify the method that the project will actually use.

The buyer decision is not whether every membrane switch should receive one universal high-voltage test. It is whether the exact construction and source-to-return pair can withstand a defined electrical stress under controlled conditions, with a stated detection threshold and post-test disposition. The responsible equipment organization must separately determine applicable insulation coordination and product-safety requirements.

01

Record the withdrawn status before copying the requirement

ASTM's official page states that F1662-16 was withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement, with the status last updated 30 November 2023. A legacy report can remain useful historical evidence when its specimen, edition and setup are known, but an RFQ should not present the designation as a current consensus method or assume that it automatically satisfies another safety document.

The public scope covers verification of a specified dielectric-withstand voltage or determination of dielectric-breakdown voltage for a membrane switch or printed electronic device. ASTM's public significance statement identifies conductor/dielectric/conductor crossings, close conductor proximity, shielding and metal backing panels as example areas. It also states that testing may be destructive and tested units should be considered unreliable for future use.

Those public statements define the engineering question without supplying a project voltage, waveform, dwell or acceptance threshold. The project must select those values from its circuit, insulation function, applicable equipment requirements and responsible engineering review. Do not copy a number from a supplier data sheet, another assembly or a withdrawn procedure summary into a new drawing without that boundary.

ASTM F1662-16 official withdrawn-status, scope and significance page
02

Map source and return pairs before naming a test voltage

Mark every conductive region on the controlled circuit and stack drawing. Include traces on each printed layer, crossovers, tail contacts, connector pins, jumpers, LEDs or other mounted parts, shields, conductive graphics, grounding features and the installed metal support. The test matrix should identify which nodes are tied together, grounded, floating, isolated or excluded during each exposure.

A conductor crossing and two adjacent traces can have different dielectric paths even when their visible spacing looks similar. A shield or metal backer adds another boundary that may not exist on an unshielded sample. If a connected component contains a lower-voltage path, decide whether it remains installed, is protected, is disconnected or is outside the component-level test. Record that choice instead of letting the fixture decide it silently.

State the stress profile separately for each pair: AC or DC, waveform or frequency, target level, ramp, dwell, discharge and the instrument's current-limit, leakage-detection or trip behavior. Also state the connection sequence and residual-charge control. The article deliberately gives no universal voltage because an unqualified number would be unsafe and nontransferable.

03

Worked example: three zones can require three records

This is an original hypothetical HYR editorial worksheet, not a customer case, measured specimen, ASTM procedure or test result. Candidate A is a conductor crossing: the source is the upper trace and the return is the lower trace, with the intervening dielectric and the exact crossing location identified. The record must preserve layer construction, overlap geometry and specimen revision.

Candidate B is a close-proximity pair on the same circuit layer. The source and return are two adjacent nets, while all other conductors have an explicitly stated tied, grounded or floating state. The record should identify the narrowest reviewed region rather than relying on a generic minimum-spacing statement that may not describe the tested path.

Candidate C is a circuit-to-shield or circuit-to-metal-backer boundary. It exists only when the representative shield, conductive coating, mounting plate or other conductive surface is present and connected in the agreed state. A loose unbacked circuit cannot prove the installed boundary simply because its conductor pattern matches.

The worksheet proves only a coverage principle: one voltage entry does not show which insulation paths were stressed. It does not choose a safe voltage, predict breakdown, establish creepage or clearance, or approve a production design. Actual testing requires a qualified method, controlled equipment and the responsible organization's safety procedures.

04

Separate component withstand evidence from insulation coordination

ASTM's electronics catalogue lists F1662 dielectric withstand and F1689 insulation resistance as separate withdrawn methods. A withstand exposure asks whether a defined insulation boundary survives a specified stress and detection rule. An insulation-resistance measurement addresses resistance or leakage between defined points under its own method and condition. Do not use a pass in one record as an unstated substitute for the other.

IEC 60664-1 addresses insulation coordination for equipment connected to low-voltage supply systems. Its public overview covers clearances, creepage distances and criteria for solid insulation, with considerations including voltage, frequency and altitude. The IEC 60664 series collection published on 10 July 2026 includes the consolidated IEC 60664-1:2020 with Amendment 1:2025. That equipment-level framework does not become a membrane-switch component method merely because the switch is inside the equipment.

The responsible OEM or equipment safety authority must identify insulation function, system voltage, transient environment, overvoltage category, pollution degree, material behavior, altitude and the applicable product standard. The membrane-switch supplier can return construction-specific evidence for agreed boundaries, but it cannot infer finished-equipment compliance from a component coupon or a single withstand result.

Keep ESD immunity separate as well. An electrostatic discharge applied to a user-accessible surface is a transient immunity question with its own coupling paths and system behavior. It is not interchangeable with a dielectric-withstand exposure between selected circuit nodes.

IEC 60664-1 official insulation-coordination scopeIEC 60664:2026 series collectionDefine the separate ESD immunity boundary
05

Six failures a single withstand-voltage note can hide

Use these review scenarios to find a missing control. They are not reported HYR failures.

  • Wrong method status: the drawing calls F1662 a current method even though ASTM marks F1662-16 withdrawn with no replacement.
  • Wrong boundary: the fixture stresses adjacent traces while the project risk is a conductor crossing or a circuit-to-backer path.
  • Wrong node state: shields, unused conductors or connected components float in one setup and are grounded or tied in another.
  • Wrong stress profile: AC and DC, ramp, dwell, discharge or trip settings differ while both reports show only the same voltage number.
  • Wrong specimen condition: a clean loose circuit is compared with a humid, mounted or contaminated assembly without recording the difference.
  • Wrong disposition: a potentially destructive test unit is returned to qualification or production use without an explicit reliability decision.
06

Release a comparable RFQ and approval record

Begin with the equipment boundary and insulation function, then mark the component paths that the supplier is expected to evaluate. For every test row, identify source and return nodes, other-node state, specimen revision, preconditioning, mounting, connected components, waveform, ramp, dwell, detection rule and discharge process. If the project uses a legacy F1662 report for comparison, retain its edition and limitations without describing it as current.

Set acceptance before testing. Define whether the record uses breakdown, flashover, leakage or instrument trip, and include post-test continuity, circuit resistance, insulation checks, visual inspection and functional operation where applicable. Specify retest policy, deviations, raw-data retention and the authority that approves exceptions.

Decide specimen disposition explicitly. ASTM's public F1662 summary warns that dielectric-withstand testing may be destructive and tested units should be considered unreliable for future use. Use separate units when qualification, destructive exploration and production release require different evidence, unless the responsible project authority has approved another documented plan.

For an HYR review, send the controlled circuit and stack drawings, node map, shield and backer details, installed environment, applicable equipment standard and proposed test matrix through the secure RFQ. Mark unknown values for engineering resolution instead of filling them with a generic high-voltage claim.

Define the complete membrane-switch constructionSend dielectric-test requirements for review

Decision matrix

Three-zone coverage map: voltage alone is not a test definition

Original hypothetical decision worksheet, not measured hardware, an ASTM procedure or a voltage recommendation. Each row identifies a different insulation boundary that may need its own controlled record.

Decision factorBoundary under reviewRequired test identityRFQ decision
Zone A — conductor crossingUpper trace to lower trace; exact dielectric, overlap and layer revisionMethod and stress profile tied to the named crossingRecord the location and construction; do not generalize from an adjacent-trace coupon.
Zone B — adjacent conductorsNamed net to named net; narrowest reviewed region; state of every other conductorMethod and stress profile tied to the closest reviewed pairDefine tied, grounded, floating and excluded nodes so suppliers stress the same boundary.
Zone C — shield or metal backerCircuit group to representative shield, conductive coating or installed metal supportMethod and stress profile with the actual conductive surface presentInclude its connection state; a loose unbacked circuit is not equivalent.
Stress identityContractual method; AC or DC; waveform; target; ramp; dwell and dischargeCurrent limit, leakage detection and trip behaviorDo not compare reports that share a voltage number but use different profiles.
Evidence identitySpecimen revision, preconditioning and mountingPre/post electrical, visual and functional checks; raw data; dispositionSeparate destructive qualification units from production parts and equipment approval.

The matrix demonstrates coverage, not performance. It is not a test result, customer case, safe voltage, dielectric rating, creepage or clearance calculation, certification, or product recommendation. A qualified project authority must choose the applicable method and values.

Before the RFQ

Frequently asked questions

Status

Is ASTM F1662 still an active membrane-switch test method?

No. ASTM International marks F1662-16 as withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement, status last updated 30 November 2023. A current RFQ should record that status and name the actual contractual method instead of calling F1662 a current method.

Boundary

Which membrane-switch areas can need dielectric-withstand review?

ASTM's public F1662 significance statement identifies conductor/dielectric/conductor crossings, close conductor proximity and other conductive surfaces such as shielding or a metal backing panel. The project should map the exact source and return nodes for its own construction.

Resistance

Is dielectric withstand the same as insulation resistance?

No. A withstand exposure evaluates survival under a defined electrical stress and detection rule, while an insulation-resistance record measures resistance or leakage between defined points under its own condition. ASTM's catalogue lists the characteristics as separate methods; neither result should silently replace the other.

Safety

Does a component withstand pass prove IEC 60664 insulation coordination?

No. IEC 60664-1 addresses equipment insulation coordination, including clearances, creepage distances and solid insulation criteria within its scope. The OEM or responsible safety authority must apply the relevant equipment requirements; one membrane-switch component result is only bounded evidence.

Report

What belongs in a membrane-switch dielectric-test report?

Identify the specimen and revision, source and return nodes, other-node state, preconditioning and mounting, connected components, method, AC or DC waveform, target, ramp, dwell, discharge, current limit or trip rule, breakdown or flashover observations, post-test checks, deviations, raw data and specimen disposition.

A useful fit when

Who this guide helps

  • OEM electrical and quality teams defining a component-level dielectric-withstand check for a membrane-switch construction.
  • Sourcing teams comparing proposals that cite the same voltage but stress different conductor pairs, shields, backers or specimen conditions.

Limits to resolve

Scope and limitations

  • The three-zone worksheet is original editorial synthesis, not an ASTM procedure, HYR test, customer result, voltage recommendation, safety margin or certification claim.
  • This article does not select an equipment safety standard, calculate creepage or clearance, establish reinforced or basic insulation, or approve the finished product.

Prepare the RFQ

What to send for a useful review

  1. 01

    Controlled circuit and stack drawings showing every conductor layer, crossing, adjacent net, spacer opening, shield, conductive coating, metal backer and connector boundary.

  2. 02

    A source-to-return test matrix stating which nodes are energized, grounded, tied together, isolated, floating or excluded for each exposure.

  3. 03

    Contractual method and stress profile, including method edition, AC or DC, waveform, target level, ramp, dwell, discharge and instrument leakage or trip settings.

  4. 04

    Specimen identity and condition, including material and process revision, preconditioning, temperature, humidity, contamination control, mounting and connected-component state.

  5. 05

    Acceptance and reporting rules for breakdown, flashover, leakage or trip, visual change, post-test resistance and function, deviations, raw data and specimen disposition.

Evidence boundary

Evidence and editorial method

ASTM International's product page marks F1662-16 withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement and publicly identifies conductor crossings, close conductor spacing, shields and metal backers as relevant test areas. ASTM's catalogue separately lists F1662 dielectric withstand and F1689 insulation resistance, so one result should not be silently substituted for the other. IEC 60664-1 provides equipment-level insulation-coordination context for clearances, creepage distances and solid insulation; it is not a replacement membrane-switch method. The three-zone matrix is original HYR editorial synthesis, not a test result or safety approval. The parent-owned photograph shows completed membrane panels only and supplies no dielectric evidence.

Publication approval: Owner-approved scheduled editorial publication under standing authorization recorded 5 September 2026; editorial verification 20 September 2026.

Technical reference basis

Sources and applicability

  1. ASTM InternationalASTM F1662-16: Standard Test Method for Verifying Dielectric Withstand and Determining Dielectric Breakdown Voltage
    Source date: 2016 edition; withdrawn 2023; status updated 30 November 2023 · Accessed 20 September 2026

    Official withdrawn-status, scope and significance page. ASTM states Withdrawn 2023, no replacement, and identifies crossings, adjacent conductors, shields, metal backers and potentially destructive testing. No paid procedure or project voltage is reproduced.

  2. ASTM InternationalASTM electronics standards catalogue
    Publication date not stated · Accessed 20 September 2026

    Official catalogue corroborating F1662-16 and F1689-05(2020) as separate withdrawn methods. Used for method identity and status only, not as a replacement method or HYR compliance claim.

  3. International Electrotechnical CommissionIEC 60664-1:2020+AMD1:2025 CSV — insulation coordination principles, requirements and tests
    Source date: Base edition published 26 May 2020; consolidated with Amendment 1:2025; stability date 2028 · Accessed 20 September 2026

    Official public overview for equipment insulation coordination, clearances, creepage distances and solid insulation within the stated low-voltage-system scope. It is not a membrane-switch component method and supplies no HYR product rating.

  4. International Electrotechnical CommissionIEC 60664:2026 Series — Insulation coordination for equipment within low-voltage systems
    Source date: Published 10 July 2026 · Accessed 20 September 2026

    Official series collection published in 2026 and listing the consolidated IEC 60664-1:2020+AMD1:2025 among its contents. Used as current equipment-level context, not as an F1662 replacement or certification claim.