The method is withdrawn; define the electrical and thermal boundary before quoting a current limit

Membrane Switch Current Tests After ASTM F1681

ASTM F1681-14 was withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement, so do not treat it as a current default. A membrane-switch current requirement should identify the exact circuit path, current waveform, duration, ambient and mounting conditions, temperature-monitoring plan, resistance/open/short failure criteria, and specimen disposition. Keep static load evidence separate from cycling or switching-under-load behavior.

Executive answer

Four controls behind a comparable current test

  • F1681-14 is withdrawn with no replacement, so a legacy designation cannot replace a current project method.
  • Doubling current can quadruple initial I²R power when the assumed path resistance stays constant.
  • A defensible current result belongs to one identified path, construction, load profile and thermal boundary.

Current guidance context

What OEM engineers and sourcing teams should decide first

A drawing note such as 200 mA maximum looks precise, but it is incomplete without the energized path, duration, duty cycle, ambient, mounting condition and failure definition. ASTM International now marks F1681-14, the membrane-switch current-carrying-capacity method, as withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement. A current RFQ should therefore identify the method that the project will actually use rather than describing F1681 as active.

The buyer decision is not a universal current rating for every membrane switch. It is whether a specific circuit revision can carry a defined load under controlled static conditions without crossing the project's electrical, thermal or physical acceptance limits. Switching-under-load and cycling behavior require separate treatment because the withdrawn method's public scope explicitly excludes contact-closure cycling under current load.

01

Record the withdrawn status before copying the requirement

ASTM's official page states that F1681-14 was withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement, with the status last updated 11 January 2023. A quotation may preserve an old report as historical evidence, but it should not present the designation as a current consensus requirement or imply that another project method is automatically noncompliant.

The public scope still identifies the original engineering question: determine the current-carrying capacity of a conductor as part of a membrane-switch circuit. It distinguishes a destructive maximum-capacity test from a test of the ability to withstand a desired current level, and it limits the method to static conditions rather than contact-closure cycling under load.

The public significance statement also warns against generalization. Trace width, ink-film thickness and heat transfer through mounting substrates or active cooling can affect the result, so conclusions apply to specific designs rather than to a generic material combination. Preserve the specimen, revision and setup whenever legacy results are used for comparison.

ASTM F1681-14 official withdrawn-status, scope and significance page
02

Define the circuit path and load profile together

Mark the exact pins and conductor route that carry the test current. A path may include printed traces, tail transitions, exposed contacts, connectors, jumpers or mounted components depending on the approved supply boundary. A number measured across one route cannot be transferred silently to another route with different length, width, thickness, material, junctions or thermal support.

State the electrical profile in enough detail to reproduce it: direct or alternating current, magnitude, waveform, ramp, duration, duty cycle and any startup or abnormal condition. Also state whether contacts remain closed for the static exposure or switch while energized. The latter is outside the cited F1681 static scope and may introduce different contact, arc, bounce or cycling questions.

Keep current carrying capacity separate from ordinary low-current circuit resistance. The resistance article helps define endpoints and controller margin; the current test asks how the identified path behaves while dissipating energy under a stated load and thermal boundary. Both records can be linked, but one does not replace the other.

Define the separate circuit-resistance measurement boundary
03

Worked example: the same current can hide different path power

This is an original hypothetical HYR editorial worksheet, not a customer case, measured specimen, F1681 calculation or thermal model. Assume the listed resistance remains constant only for the arithmetic screen. Candidate A carries 0.10 A through a 2.0 Ω path for 120 seconds. Initial electrical power is I²R = 0.02 W, and the corresponding energy over the stated interval is 2.4 J.

Candidate B uses the same 2.0 Ω path for the same 120 seconds but carries 0.20 A. Its initial I²R power is 0.08 W and interval energy is 9.6 J, four times A. Candidate C also carries 0.20 A for 120 seconds, but its assumed path resistance is 4.0 Ω. Its initial power is 0.16 W and interval energy is 19.2 J, eight times A.

These values do not predict temperature rise, material damage or pass/fail behavior. Actual resistance can change with temperature, and heat storage and transfer depend on the specific conductor, support, adhesive, enclosure, ambient and exposure time. The worksheet proves only that a current number without path resistance and thermal conditions cannot define equivalent electrical loading.

NIST explains current with I = V/R and defines the joule through current, resistance and time. The arithmetic is useful for checking an RFQ, but it does not convert a power estimate into a tested current rating. Measured current, voltage, resistance and temperature records must remain tied to the actual specimen and approved method.

NIST explanation of electric current and Ohm's lawNIST joule definition
04

Control the thermal boundary before comparing results

Record ambient temperature, air movement, support plate, adhesive bond, backing, enclosure contact, nearby heat sources and any active cooling. A loose circuit suspended in air and the same circuit bonded to a thermally conductive support do not share the same heat-transfer boundary. Do not compare their current results as though only the printed trace mattered.

IEC TR 60943 provides general guidance for estimating permissible temperature and temperature rise in current-carrying parts under steady-state conditions, including contacts, terminals and conductors. Its public overview is useful context for separating ambient, temperature rise and part limits, but it is not a membrane-switch test method and does not supply a universal acceptance temperature for an HYR panel.

Define where and how temperature is observed, including sensor type, attachment, location, sampling and response time. ASTM's public F1681 summary notes that a thermocouple can help monitor the unit under test, but it does not make one sensor location representative of every narrow trace, crossing, tail transition or connector interface.

Predefine electrical and physical stop rules. Depending on the project, the record may include path resistance change, loss of continuity, a short, insulation damage, visual change, temperature observation or another approved criterion. Keep tested-to-destruction samples out of later qualification or production use unless a responsible project authority has explicitly defined another disposition.

IEC TR 60943 steady-state temperature-rise context
05

Six failures a single current number can hide

Use these review scenarios to find a missing control. They are not reported HYR failures.

  • Wrong standard status: an RFQ calls F1681 current even though ASTM marks F1681-14 withdrawn with no replacement.
  • Wrong path: the test uses a short wide coupon while the product route includes a narrow tail neck, crossing, connector or jumper.
  • Wrong load profile: a brief startup pulse, a continuous static load and switching-under-load are treated as equivalent because their peak current matches.
  • Wrong thermal boundary: a loose panel and a bonded or enclosed panel are compared without recording support, ambient, airflow or nearby heat sources.
  • Wrong endpoint: current is interrupted after a visible change, but resistance drift, open/short status, temperature record and stop time are not retained.
  • Wrong disposition: a destructively stressed unit is returned to functional or qualification use without an explicit reliability decision.
06

Release a comparable RFQ and approval record

Start with the use case: normal static load, startup condition, abnormal but protected condition, historical-equivalence study or destructive design exploration. Map each condition to the exact circuit path, current profile, duration and thermal setup. If the equipment controller limits current or time, include the protection behavior as a system input rather than assuming it belongs to the switch.

Set acceptance before testing. Identify pre- and post-exposure resistance endpoints, continuity and short checks, selected temperature points, visual criteria, repeat count, raw-data retention and the authority that approves deviations. A maximum observed current is not a transferable product rating when the route, construction or heat-transfer boundary changes.

Separate supplier evidence from finished-equipment approval. The membrane-switch supplier can return the identified specimen and agreed component-level record. The OEM or equipment owner remains responsible for circuit protection, wiring, power supply, enclosure temperature, abnormal conditions and any applicable safety or regulatory evaluation of the complete equipment.

For an HYR review, send the controlled drawing, schematic or net list, path and pin map, current profiles, mounting boundary, ambient conditions and proposed acceptance table through the secure RFQ. Mark unknown values instead of replacing them with a generic current claim.

Define the complete membrane-switch constructionSend current-test requirements for review

Decision matrix

Static-load screen: current is only one input

Original hypothetical values, not measured hardware or an F1681 procedure. Resistance is assumed constant only for the arithmetic. Power uses I²R; interval energy uses power multiplied by 120 seconds.

Decision factorAssumed path and loadArithmetic screenRFQ decision
Candidate A0.10 A, 2.0 Ω, 120 s static0.02 W initial power; 2.4 J interval energyBaseline calculation only; temperature and acceptance remain unproven.
Candidate B0.20 A, 2.0 Ω, 120 s static0.08 W initial power; 9.6 J interval energyTwice A's current gives four times its power under the fixed-resistance assumption.
Candidate C0.20 A, 4.0 Ω, 120 s static0.16 W initial power; 19.2 J interval energySame current as B but twice its assumed power because the path resistance differs.
Thermal identityAmbient, support, adhesive, enclosure, airflow and nearby heat sourcesSensor type, position, attachment, sampling and responseDo not generalize a result to a different heat-transfer boundary.
Acceptance identityResistance change, open, short, insulation, visual and temperature criteriaStop rule, repeats, raw data and tested-part dispositionName the contractual method; F1681-14 is withdrawn with no replacement.

B has four times A's calculated power and energy; C has eight times A's and twice B's. These ratios follow only from the stated constant-resistance arithmetic. They are not temperature-rise ratios, current ratings, safety margins, material limits or product recommendations.

Before the RFQ

Frequently asked questions

Status

Is ASTM F1681 still an active membrane-switch test method?

No. ASTM International marks F1681-14 as withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement, status last updated 11 January 2023. A current RFQ should record that status and name the actual contractual method instead of calling F1681 current.

Rating

Can a membrane switch have one universal current rating?

A defensible limit belongs to a defined circuit path, construction, load profile, mounting and thermal boundary. ASTM's public significance statement says design parameters and heat transfer affect results and that conclusions should apply to specific designs rather than a generic material combination.

Cycling

Does a static current test cover switching under load?

No. The public F1681 scope applies to static conditions and excludes contact-closure cycling under current load. If contacts switch while energized, define a separate applicable method, waveform, cycle count, failure modes and finished-equipment responsibility.

Temperature

Does an I²R calculation predict membrane-switch temperature rise?

Not by itself. It estimates electrical power under stated assumptions, while actual temperature behavior also depends on changing resistance, conductor geometry and materials, duration, support, adhesive, enclosure, ambient and heat transfer. Use measured, specimen-specific evidence for acceptance.

Report

What belongs in a membrane-switch current-test report?

Identify the specimen and revision, energized path, current and voltage profile, duration and duty, static or switching state, construction and mounting, ambient and cooling, instruments and temperature points, pre/post resistance, open/short and visual results, stop rule, deviations, raw data and tested-part disposition.

A useful fit when

Who this guide helps

  • OEM electrical and quality teams defining a static current-withstand check for a membrane-switch circuit path.
  • Sourcing teams comparing supplier proposals that otherwise use the same current number with different durations, layouts or mounting conditions.

Limits to resolve

Scope and limitations

  • The A, B and C worksheet uses invented editorial values with constant resistance. It is not an HYR test, customer result, temperature prediction, current rating or recommended limit.
  • This article does not reproduce the withdrawn ASTM procedure, designate a replacement method, cover switching-under-load cycling or establish finished-equipment electrical safety.

Prepare the RFQ

What to send for a useful review

  1. 01

    Controlled circuit drawing and revision with the energized pins, conductor route, narrow sections, crossings, connectors and included components identified.

  2. 02

    Maximum normal, abnormal and startup current profiles with voltage, duration, duty cycle, switching state and protective-device behavior where applicable.

  3. 03

    Circuit construction and specimen condition, including conductor system, nominal geometry, support, adhesive, backing, enclosure and nearby heat sources or cooling.

  4. 04

    Measurement plan for current, voltage, path resistance and selected temperature points, with instruments, sampling, calibration status and preconditioning stated.

  5. 05

    Acceptance and stop rules for resistance change, open/short conditions, insulation damage, visual change, temperature observations, repeats, raw data and tested-part disposition.

Evidence boundary

Evidence and editorial method

ASTM International's current product page marks F1681-14 withdrawn in 2023 with no replacement and publicly describes static current-capacity scope, design-specific applicability, destructive potential and possible resistance, short and open failures. IEC TR 60943 provides general steady-state temperature-rise context for current-carrying parts; it is not a membrane-switch method. NIST's public electrical-unit explanations support the worksheet arithmetic. The A–C comparison is original HYR editorial synthesis with explicitly hypothetical values; it is not a test result, temperature prediction or product-performance claim. The parent-owned photograph shows completed membrane panels only and supplies no current-capacity evidence.

Publication approval: Owner-approved scheduled editorial publication under standing authorization recorded 5 September 2026; editorial verification 19 September 2026.

Technical reference basis

Sources and applicability

  1. ASTM InternationalASTM F1681-14: Standard Test Method for Determining Current Carrying Capacity of a Membrane Switch Circuit
    Source date: 2014 edition; withdrawn 2023 · Accessed 19 September 2026

    Official withdrawn-status, scope and significance page. ASTM states Withdrawn 2023, no replacement, and describes static-only, design-specific and potentially destructive current-capacity evidence. No paid procedure or universal current limit is reproduced.

  2. ASTM InternationalASTM electronics standards catalogue
    Publication date not stated · Accessed 19 September 2026

    Official catalogue corroborating F1681-14 as Withdrawn 2023. Used for current status only, not as a replacement method or HYR compliance claim.

  3. International Electrotechnical CommissionIEC TR 60943:1998+A1:2009 — steady-state temperature-rise guidance
    Source date: Edition 2.1 published 24 March 2009; stability date 2030 · Accessed 19 September 2026

    Official public overview for general steady-state current-carrying parts, contacts, terminals and conductors. It is not a membrane-switch test method and supplies no HYR product limit.

  4. National Institute of Standards and TechnologyAmpere: The Present
    Source date: Published 14 May 2018 · Accessed 19 September 2026

    Official public explanation of electric current and I = V/R. Used only to support the transparent hypothetical arithmetic, not a membrane-switch test or rating.

  5. National Institute of Standards and TechnologyJoule
    Publication date not stated · Accessed 19 September 2026

    Official unit definition relating current, resistance and time. Used only for the worksheet's energy arithmetic; it does not predict temperature rise or product acceptance.