A drawing-controlled RFQ example for membrane-switch FPC tails and ZIF mating connectors

Two 0.50 mm FPC Connectors, Two Tail Thicknesses

A membrane-switch FPC tail cannot be approved for a zero-insertion-force (ZIF) connector from pitch and circuit count alone. Name the exact connector and drawing revision, then control the finished tail-end thickness, contact geometry, insertion orientation and sample acceptance method. Two Molex six-circuit, 0.50 mm examples list nonoverlapping drawing-specified thickness windows; that comparison is a specification warning, not a tested HYR fit result or a claim of connector interchangeability.

Executive answer

Control the receiving part, finished tail and mated sample

  • A connector's exact customer drawing, not its pitch label, states the applicable or recommended finished FPC mating-end dimensions for that part.
  • Molex 2213780067 and 5034800640 are both six-circuit, 0.50 mm examples, yet their listed FPC thickness windows do not overlap; the comparison does not qualify either part for HYR or for substitution.
  • Request a measurable tail-end drawing and agree on incoming and installed-sample checks before accepting a membrane-switch connector interface.

Current guidance context

The buyer question is the finished mating end

A buyer may receive a drawing marked 'six circuits, 0.50 mm pitch, FPC tail' and assume that a six-position ZIF connector with the same pitch is sufficiently defined. That description identifies the lateral contact spacing but not the cavity's accepted mating thickness, where the exposed conductors sit, how the actuator closes, or which side of the flexible circuit carries the contacts. The exact receiving part and its controlled drawing answer those questions.

This guide uses two publicly documented Molex connectors as a worked specification example. It does not report a failed assembly, select either connector for an HYR product or advise replacing one with the other. The source-to-RFQ worksheet below shows how to turn a supplier drawing into questions a membrane-switch converter, board team and OEM can answer before tooling or purchase approval.

Identify whether the proposed HYR construction is an FPC membrane switch ↗
01

Freeze the exact receiving connector before drawing the tail

Ask the OEM board team for the connector manufacturer, full order number, current customer drawing and board-placement orientation. A family name may include different circuit counts, contact positions or dimensions. The same nominal pitch can also appear in housings with different actuator and cable-stack requirements. A converter should not infer the complete insertion end from the words '0.50 mm ZIF.'

Place the connector drawing alongside the flexible-tail artwork. Mark circuit one, insertion edge, contact face, exposed-contact length, width, pad pitch and any specified insertion depth. Distinguish the inserted mating zone from a thicker supported area elsewhere in the tail. If the housing, strain support or stiffener continues toward the connector, show where its edge falls relative to the connector mouth and the intended bend region.

Molex's FlatLock-90 data sheet identifies the 221378 series as a 0.50 mm, six-circuit right-angle connector with a 0.20 ± 0.03 mm FFC/FPC thickness specification. The 503480 FBH1 data sheet includes the six-circuit 5034800640 variant at 0.50 mm pitch and lists 0.30 mm nominal FFC/FPC thickness. Those figures describe the named Molex series, not every 0.50 mm connector or a membrane-switch standard.

Molex FlatLock-90 series data sheet and listed mating thickness ↗Molex FBH1 series data sheet and six-circuit variant ↗
02

Read the two customer drawings before comparing thickness

For order number 2213780067, Molex customer drawing 2213780001-SD Rev B, released July 3, 2025, lists six circuits and an applicable FPC thickness of 0.20 ± 0.03 mm. The arithmetic interval is 0.17–0.23 mm. It is the drawing's mating-FPC condition, not a measurement of an HYR tail or permission to use that connector in a specific application.

For order number 5034800640, Molex customer drawing SD-503480-003 Rev C, released February 27, 2023, lists six circuits. Its applicable FPC recommended dimension for 30 or fewer circuits gives thickness 0.30 ± 0.05 mm. For this six-circuit example, that interval is 0.25–0.35 mm. The lower end of the second listed window exceeds the upper end of the first by 0.02 mm. A shared pitch and six-position count therefore do not produce one common finished-tail thickness specification.

The drawing comparison is intentionally narrow. It does not say every tail outside either listed window will physically fail, and it is not a drop-in interchangeability analysis. The two connectors differ in other geometry and 0.90 versus 1.00 mm listed mated height. For a real project, the OEM must choose and control the actual part, read its current drawing, and have the responsible engineering team resolve all mating dimensions and validation criteria.

Molex 2213780067 customer drawing Rev B: six circuits and 0.20 ± 0.03 mm FPC ↗Molex 5034800640 customer drawing Rev C: six circuits and 0.30 ± 0.05 mm recommended FPC ↗
03

Specify finished thickness where the connector contacts the tail

A base-film callout does not equal the final stack at the insertion end. Conductors, coverlay openings, plating and a stiffener can change local thickness or geometry; the connector maker's drawing may also show a recommended layer structure. Name the layer stack and finished thickness at the actual mating zone, with its tolerance and measurement locations. Ask whether the quoted value includes the stiffener and whether any adhesive edge or burr intrudes on the exposed-contact zone.

Give the converter a controlled side-view and plan-view of the tail end rather than a pitch-only sketch. The plan view should define pad count, pitch, width, first-contact location, tail width and insertion edge. The side view should define contact face, finished stack, supported/stiffened region and bend or transition boundary. Keep dimensions tied to a datum and drawing revision so a change in adhesive, film or stiffener thickness does not silently change the accepted interface.

Molex's drawings illustrate why the details matter: the 221378 drawing includes a recommended FPC structure and warns against excess adhesive reaching the contact zone; the 503480 drawing also provides a recommended FPC structure and its own contact-related dimensional notes. These are the connector maker's examples, not a declaration that HYR uses those materials, a universal stack recipe or a substitute for the OEM's chosen-part drawing.

See the 221378 drawing's FPC structure and contact-zone notes ↗See the 503480 drawing's FPC structure and contact-zone notes ↗
04

Turn the drawing into incoming and installed-sample evidence

Agree on the checking sequence before quoting an acceptance result. First, identify the connector and tail revisions and measure the finished insertion zone against the selected customer drawing and OEM-approved tolerance. Record the instrument or method, measurement points, sample identifiers and who can accept a deviation. A nominal film thickness alone is not an incoming mating-end measurement.

Then use representative connector and tail specimens in the intended board and housing arrangement. Observe insertion orientation, full seating and actuator closure without treating a visual latch as proof of electrical function. Apply only the project-selected handling and retention checks, and verify the required circuit map or continuity under the OEM's defined electrical conditions. If assembly or service will involve repeated mating, have the OEM and connector supplier decide whether a mating-cycle check is needed; do not turn a data-sheet durability rating into an HYR guarantee.

Finally, record the exact configuration that was observed: connector order number and revision, tail drawing and lot, board and housing revision, sample count, conditions, readings, exceptions and disposition owner. A pass on one mounted stack cannot be transferred automatically to a different stiffener, connector, contact face or enclosure route. The sequence is an HYR editorial buyer worksheet, not a released test protocol or evidence of an HYR production lot.

Assemble the controlled RFQ drawing package ↗Keep flexible-board standard references separate from connector fit approval ↗
05

Challenge five realistic RFQ handoff gaps

These are hypothetical documentation and assembly risks, not observed HYR defects or customer cases. Each has a specific record or check that can resolve the question before an OEM accepts the interface.

  • The RFQ says only 'six-pin, 0.50 mm ZIF.' Add the exact connector order number and current customer drawing; the two cited Molex examples already have different drawing-listed mating-end thickness windows.
  • The drawing calls out a base-film thickness but not the finished inserted stack. Define and measure the complete local thickness, including the chosen stiffener and process tolerances, at the connector contact zone.
  • A tail appears to enter a similar housing, so the quotation assumes contact compatibility. Confirm contact face, exposed length, pad position, insertion depth and actuator behavior against the chosen part's drawing on representative samples.
  • An unmounted coupon passes continuity, so the assembled product is accepted. Check the controlled board/housing routing and required electrical state after insertion and latch closure under the OEM's conditions.
  • The connector or stiffener changes without changing the RFQ title. Reissue the affected drawing and ask the designated OEM engineer whether incoming and mounted evidence must be repeated; do not transfer the earlier result by name alone.
06

Send one controlled tail-and-connector RFQ

Place the actual connector's manufacturer drawing beside the proposed membrane-switch tail drawing. Give every supplier the same circuit map, stack cross-section, insertion orientation, board/housing location and expected service or environmental conditions. Require returned quotations to identify assumptions and exclusions, including which party owns the connector, the tail-end dimensional evidence and the installed electrical confirmation.

Use the comparison matrix below as a question template, not as a selector between the two Molex products. The OEM must define numeric acceptance limits, measurement methods, sampling, connector substitution policy and approval authority for its design. If those inputs are open, flag them in the RFQ rather than describing a tail as 'connector ready' on pitch alone.

For an HYR engineering inquiry, send the controlled connector drawing and proposed tail/assembly documents through the secure RFQ. Ask for project-specific review of the material stack, mating-end geometry and sample plan. No public connector drawing or parent-company image proves that a particular HYR build has passed mating validation.

Review the FPC membrane-switch supply boundary ↗Send an FPC tail and connector package for project review ↗

Decision matrix

Drawing-to-RFQ matrix: match each source to the decision

HYR editorial worksheet based on public Molex drawings. The part examples are not connector alternatives approved for one application; replace them with the OEM's selected part and project limits before releasing a build.

Decision factorControlled inputEvidence and decision owner
2213780067 example0.50 mm pitch, six circuits; customer drawing 2213780001-SD Rev B: applicable FPC 0.20 ± 0.03 mm, or 0.17–0.23 mm.Molex drawing states the part condition. OEM decides whether this exact part is selected; converter provides measured finished-tail evidence for that selection.
5034800640 example0.50 mm pitch, six circuits; customer drawing SD-503480-003 Rev C: recommended applicable FPC 0.30 ± 0.05 mm for ≤30 circuits, or 0.25–0.35 mm.Molex drawing gives a recommended mating-FPC dimension. The listed thickness interval starts 0.02 mm above the first example's maximum; this is not a physical failure test or substitution ruling.
Actual membrane-switch tailProject drawing: contact face and length, local finished thickness/tolerance, stiffener and adhesive boundaries, width, pad map, insertion datum and revision.Converter identifies construction and measurements; OEM board team confirms the chosen connector drawing and resolves deviations before approval.
Mounted interface and changesActual connector/tail/board/housing revisions, sample IDs, insertion and latch observations, electrical map, agreed conditioning and change triggers.OEM selects method, numeric limits, sampling and disposition owner. Recheck affected evidence after a connector, contact or tail-stack change.

The two numeric rows are supplier-published mating-end examples. They prove only a drawing-level specification difference; no HYR component, connector swap, incoming lot or assembled electrical result has been measured here.

Before the RFQ

Frequently asked questions

Pitch

Is 0.50 mm pitch and six circuits enough to specify a ZIF mating tail?

No. The exact connector drawing also states its applicable or recommended finished mating thickness and contact geometry. Molex's six-circuit 2213780067 and 5034800640 both use 0.50 mm pitch but list different FPC thickness windows. Record the selected order number and drawing revision before releasing tail artwork.

Thickness

Where should an OEM define and measure FPC tail thickness?

At the finished insertion/contact zone of the proposed tail, with measurement points, method and tolerance tied to its controlled drawing. Base-film thickness alone does not state the complete conductive, adhesive and stiffener stack presented to the connector. The selected connector maker's drawing supplies the relevant mating condition.

Comparison

Do the two Molex examples have overlapping published FPC thickness ranges?

No. The cited 2213780067 drawing lists 0.20 ± 0.03 mm (0.17–0.23 mm); the 5034800640 drawing lists a 0.30 ± 0.05 mm recommended dimension for six circuits (0.25–0.35 mm). The listed intervals have a 0.02 mm gap. This is arithmetic on supplier drawings, not an actual HYR fit or failure result.

Substitution

Can one six-circuit 0.50 mm FPC connector replace another?

Not from pitch and count alone. Compare the full manufacturer drawings, including mating thickness, contact location, actuator, board footprint and mounted geometry. The OEM must select and validate any alternative in its actual assembly; this article does not approve a substitution.

RFQ

What should a membrane-switch FPC tail RFQ include?

Provide the exact receiving connector and drawing revision; the finished tail-end stack, contact geometry and insertion orientation; the circuit map and enclosure/board context; and a plan for dimensional, seating and electrical observations on identified samples. Name who owns the limits and any deviation approval before treating a quotation as a qualified interface.

A useful fit when

Who this guide helps

  • OEM engineers defining a membrane-switch FPC tail that mates to a selected FFC/FPC or ZIF connector on their board.
  • Sourcing and quality teams comparing quotes that match pitch and circuit count but omit the exact mating-end stack or connector drawing revision.

Limits to resolve

Scope and limitations

  • The named Molex parts and dimensional windows are third-party drawing examples, not HYR stock parts, tail specifications, compatibility approvals or substitution recommendations.
  • The parent-company photograph is visual context for finished switch panels and tails; it does not show a measured ZIF mating end or prove the illustrated connector fits either Molex part.

Prepare the RFQ

What to send for a useful review

  1. 01

    Exact OEM board connector manufacturer and order number, controlled customer drawing revision, circuit count, pitch, contact arrangement, actuator and insertion direction.

  2. 02

    Controlled FPC mating-end drawing with finished thickness and tolerance at the inserted contact zone, layer/stiffener stack, exposed-contact length and face, pad width/pitch, tail width, insertion depth and datum references.

  3. 03

    Actual supply construction and ownership: copper FPC or another tail platform, contact finish, backing/stiffener process, connector procurement and responsibility for drawing changes.

  4. 04

    Incoming and first-article evidence: thickness measurement locations/method, identified specimens, connector and tail revisions, insertion/locking observations, electrical circuit map and OEM-selected acceptance criteria.

  5. 05

    Installed-state review: housing exit, strain support, allowed bend region, board location, service access, change control and the named OEM disposition owner for any mismatch.

Evidence boundary

Evidence and editorial method

Molex's 2213780067 customer drawing Rev B identifies a six-circuit 0.50 mm connector with applicable FPC thickness 0.20 ± 0.03 mm. Molex's 5034800640 customer drawing SD-503480-003 Rev C identifies a six-circuit 0.50 mm connector and an applicable FPC recommended thickness 0.30 ± 0.05 mm for 30 or fewer circuits. Their listed intervals calculate to 0.17–0.23 and 0.25–0.35 mm, respectively, with a 0.02 mm gap. This is HYR editorial arithmetic on two public supplier drawings, not a physical fit or failure test, HYR bill of materials, connector substitution approval or measured production result. The approved parent-company photo is visual context only.

Publication approval: Owner-approved scheduled editorial publication under standing authorization recorded 5 September 2026; related-guide links verified 5 October and 11 October 2026.

Technical reference basis

Sources and applicability

  1. Molex2213780067 FlatLock-90 customer drawing, 2213780001-SD Rev B ↗
    Source date: Released 3 July 2025 · Accessed 29 September 2026

    Exact six-circuit order number, 0.50 mm pitch and 0.20 ± 0.03 mm applicable FPC. Linked and narrowly paraphrased; no HYR part selection or measured fit is inferred.

  2. Molex5034800640 FBH1 customer drawing, SD-503480-003 Rev C ↗
    Source date: Released 27 February 2023 · Accessed 29 September 2026

    Exact six-circuit order number and 0.30 ± 0.05 mm recommended applicable FPC for 30 or fewer circuits. Not a substitution or HYR compatibility approval.

  3. MolexEasy-On FlatLock-90 Series data sheet, 987652-6201 Rev. 2 ↗
    Source date: March 2025 · Accessed 29 September 2026

    221378 series context: pitch, six circuits, orientation and FFC/FPC thickness. Part drawing controls exact mating geometry.

  4. MolexEasy-On FBH1 Series data sheet, 987651-8371 Rev. 3 ↗
    Source date: May 2025 · Accessed 29 September 2026

    5034800640 and related 4–6 circuit variants: 0.50 mm pitch and nominal 0.30 mm FFC/FPC. Exact tolerances come from the customer drawing.

  5. Molex5034800640 official part page ↗
    Source date: Publication date not stated on page · Accessed 29 September 2026

    Cross-checks exact part's six circuits, 0.50 mm pitch, back-flip actuator, dual contact and right-angle orientation. The page states limited online catalog information; customer drawing controls detailed dimensions.